Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education Special Meeting of February 14, 2024

The Board of Education held a Special Meeting on Wednesday, February 14, 2024 in the Board Room at the High School at 850 East Oak Street, Monticello, Iowa. The Special Meeting was called to order at 5:07pm by Board President Craig Stadtmueller. Board Member Mark Rieken led the Pledge of Allegiance and read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Board Secretary Judy Hayen did roll call. The following directors were present: Mark Rieken, Tony Amsler, Craig Stadtmueller, Mandy Norton, and John Schlarmann. Absent: None. Superintendent Brian Jaeger, Marcy Gillmore, Judy Hayen, Nick Schauf, Todd Werner, Denny Folken, Robyn Ponder, Kim Brooks, Mary Jane Maher, Eric Schmitt, and Val Lynn were also present. OPN Architects (Vicky Highland, Susan Bowersox, Carly Weber) participated via Zoom.

A motion was made by Norton, seconded by Schlarmann, to approve the agenda as presented with the exception of moving Item 4.03-Consider Scheduling a March Work Session/Special Board Meeting for March 6, 2024 to the February 26, 2024 meeting *(if meeting is needed)*. Ayes: Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, Norton, and Schlarmann. Nay: None. Motion carried.

The following items were discussed:

- Pre-Bond Fee Proposal for Work on Preparing for an Elementary School Bond by OPN Architects
- Performance PE Class by Valerie Lynn
- FFA Presentation by Eric Schmitt

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Amsler to approve the Pre-Bond Fee Proposal for Work on Preparing for an Elementary School Bond with OPN Architects in the amount of \$16,800 as presented. Ayes: Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, Norton, and Schlarmann. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Norton, seconded by Rieken to approve the personnel items as presented. Ayes: Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, Norton, and Schlarmann. Nay: None. Motion carried.

There being no further business, Schlarmann made a motion, seconded by Rieken to adjourn the meeting at 6:18pm and move to the Exempt Session. Ayes: Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, Norton, and Schlarmann. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Approved:

Attest:

Craig Stadtmueller, President

Judy Hayen, Board Secretary