## Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of May 22, 2023

The Board of Education regular meeting was held on Monday, May 22, 2023 in the Board Room at the 850 E Oak Street, Monticello, Iowa, and was called to order at 6:00pm by President Craig Stadtmueller. We then took a moment of silence to remember Caleb Jurgens, a freshman at Monticello High School, who passed away on May 21, 2023. Board member John Schlarmann then led the Pledge of Allegiance and read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Board Secretary, Judy Hayen, did roll call. The following directors were present: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Rieken. Absent: None. Norton arrived at 6:09pm. Also present were: Judy Hayen, Marcy Gillmore, Brian Jaeger, Pete Temple, Angie Kurt-Sconsa, Robyn Ponder, Nick Schauf, Todd Werner, Denny Folken, and Doug Herman with Lynch Dallas.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenneman to approve the agenda as presented with the exception of moving Item 5.09-Approval of 2023-24 Fee Schedule to under Action Items as #4.03. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Rieken. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Congratulations were extended to: Alex Oswald who placed 7th in Personal Financial Management at the Business Professionals of America - National Leadership Conference in Dallas, TX. Congrats also to Becky Lang, River Smith, and Marisa Grant who also qualified and competed at nationals; the Monticello High School concert band on their division 1 rating at large group festival; the following girls state track and field qualifiers: 3000-Emma Althoff; 4x800-Leah Koehler, Ava Capron, Halle Recker, Marisa Kehoe; Distance Medley-Ava Zimmerman, Keziah McQuillen, Hailey Henderson, Marisa Kehoe; 800-Marisa Kehoe, Ava Capron; 1500-Leah Koehler, Emma Althoff; and the 4x400: Hailey Henderson, Ava Capron, Keziah McQuillen, Marisa Kehoe; the following boys state track and field qualifiers: Zach Yates, discus; Chesney Capron, 1600; Ian Temple, 800; Tait Luensman, 400; Chesney Capron, Cord Nietert, Hayden Tomkins, and Ty Tallman-4x800 relay; Connor Sauser, Conner Jordan, Tate Jesenovec, and Ian Temple - distance medley relay; and to the Class of 2023!

Principals Denny Folken, Todd Werner, and Nick Schauf each gave their building report. Curriculum Director Robyn Ponder gave her Curriculum Director's report and Superintendent Jaeger also gave his report. In honor of Board Recognition Month, Jaeger presented the Board with appreciation certificates. Thank you, Board Members for your service!

A motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Norton to cancel the July 12, 2023 work session as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Nays: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Brenneman, seconded by Norton to approve the first reading of the following Board policies as presented: 404.0R1 Employee Records Regulations, 802.7 Transfer of Funds, 803.3 Credit Cards (deletion), 804.1 Care, Maintenance, and Disposal of School District Records. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Nays: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Norton, seconded by Schlarmann to approve the 2023-24 Fee Schedule as presented with the exception of raising the books fees by \$5 for next year. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, and Norton. Nays: Brenneman and Rieken. Motion carried.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenneman to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Board Member Activity Reports – Board President Craig Stadtmueller commented on what a great group of 8<sup>th</sup> graders he worked with today for the Kirkwood hands on stem activities. They were very well behaved. Board Member Mark Rieken attended the dessert concert and thought it was a very enjoyable concert and that all the students were having fun.

The following announcements were made:

- Graduation is May 28 at 2:00pm at the football field
- Last day of school is June 1 with a 1:00 early dismissal
- Next Work Session is June 14 at 6:00pm
- Next Board Meeting is June 26 at 6:00pm

At 6:56 pm, Schlarmann made a motion, seconded by Brenneman to move to closed session per Iowa Code 21.5(l)(j) to discuss the purchase or sale of particular real estate, but only when premature disclosure could be reasonably expected to increase the price the board would have to pay for the property, or in case of a sale reduce the price the board could receive for the property. By roll call vote: Schlarmann, aye; Stadtmueller, aye; Brenneman, aye; Norton, aye; and Rieken, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Norton left at 6:58pm.

Approved:

At 8:03pm a motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenneman to reconvene to open session. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Rieken. Nays: None. Motion carried.

There being no further business, Schlarmann made a motion, seconded by Brenneman to adjourn the meeting at 8:04 pm. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Rieken. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Attest:

Craig Stadtmueller, President	Judy Hayen, Board Secretary