## Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education Regular Meeting of February 27, 2023

The Board of Education regular meeting was held on Monday, February 27, 2023, in the Board Room at 850 E Oak St., Monticello, IA. President Craig Stadtmueller called the meeting to order at 6:00pm. Board Member Mark Rieken led the Pledge of Allegiance and read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Board Secretary Judy Hayen did roll call. The following directors were present Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Norton. Others present were Dr. Brian Jaeger, Marcy Gillmore, Judy Hayen, Pete Temple, Nick Schauf, Todd Werner, Denny Folken, and Rebecca DeWitte.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenenman to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Congratulations were extended to: the following Senior Athletes on their high school career: Wrestling: Ethan Long, Kale Hansen, Ian Taylor, Kyler Hus; Boys Basketball: Ian Temple, Chesney Capron, Nathan Sauser, Deacon Besler, Austin Kurt, Tate Petersen, Gage Guilford, Cord Neitert; Girls Basketball: Bella Mullen, Brea Stahlberg, Jaelyn Aitchison, Katie Roher, Reagan Schneiter; Girls Bowling: Maddison Butterworth, Marissa Grant, Emily Hendricks, Becky Lang, Angel Larsen, Maddison Parmenter, Mya Postel, Aleasha Schilling, Nora Sperfslage; Boys Bowling: Connor Hynick, Cole Nietert, Brendan Pasker, Zach Reuter, Hayden Tomkins ; Cheer: Haley Sly; Dance: Leah Smith & Claire Tuetken; the following boys' basketball players for their River Valley Conference Awards: 1<sup>st</sup> team: Tate Petersen, Preston Ries; 2<sup>nd</sup> Team: Carson Lambert; and Honorable Mention: Conley Schauf; the following girls' basketball players for their River Valley Conference Awards: 1st Team: Jayden Kuper, Kennedy Hermsen; 2<sup>nd</sup> Team: Brea Stahlberg, Katie Roher; and Honorable Mention: Keziah McOuillen; Jonah Luensman and Kale Hansen on advancing to state wrestling and to Kale for placing 6<sup>th</sup>; the following groups for being nominated for Large Group All-State Speech: Group Improv- Mia Jaeger & Bella Mullen; Short Film - Not for Kids Anymore - Harrison Ahlrichs, Jacob Miller and Dylan Ponder; Short Film - The Bachelor- Aleasha Schilling, Reagan Schneiter, Karli Schwendinger, Nora Sperfslage; Tate Petersen, who was selected to play in the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association Senior All Star Games in March. Tate was also named Academic All State for Basketball, one of only 24 to be named to the team in the entire state; Zach Reuter who placed 3rd and Brendan Pasker who placed 4th at conference bowling; Brendan Pasker who qualified first with a career-high 3 game average of 767, and Zach Reuter qualified second with a 668 and advancing to State Bowling, and to Zach on placing 13th at State; all the BPA students who attended the state conference last week in Des Moines. Monticello was well represented. We had 10 students qualify for nationals: Alex Oswald: 1st place in Personal Financial Management and 2nd place in Fundamental Spreadsheet Applications; River Smith: 1st place in C++ Programming, 1st place in Python Programming, and 5th place in Computer Programming Concept; Ella Glawatz: 3rd place in Prepared Speech; Ella Sauser: 5th place in Fundamental Desktop Publishing; Taylor Gassman: 2nd place in Ethics and Professionalism; Becky Lang: 1st place in Computer Security, 1st place in Digital Marketing Concepts, and 5th place in Meeting and Event Planning Concepts; 2nd place - Parliamentary Procedure Team: Lake Schnoor, Mace Schnoor, Aedan Althoff, and Grant Gassman. We also had a lot of Top 10 Finalists: Becky Lang: Computer Programming Concepts and Administrative Support Concepts; Lydia Ahlrichs: Parliamentary Procedure Concepts; Aedan Althoff: Information Technology Concepts; Lauren Koehler: Intermediate Word Processing and Fundamental Spreadsheet Applications; Alex Oswald: Advanced Accounting and Financial Math and Analysis Concepts; Podcast Production Team: Becky Lang, Emma Schwendinger, Marisa Grant, and Ella Glawatz; to Alex Oswald for receiving his Statesman Torch Award!

Principals Denny Folken, Todd Werner, and Nick Schauf each gave their building report. Todd arrived at 6:28pm and gave his report later in the meeting. Superintendent Jaeger also gave his report.

A motion was made by Brenneman, seconded by Rieken to set March 27, 2023 at 6:00 pm as the date & time for the Public Hearing on the 2023-24 Budget. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Norton to approve the 2023-24 Budget Guarantee Resolution as presented. By roll call vote: Rieken, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Stadtmueller, aye; Brenneman, aye; and Norton, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenneman to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

There were no Board Member activity reports.

The Board wanted to let the public know we have lots of great things happening in the Monticello Community School District!

Mark Rieken mentioned he is still interested in getting an education committee started (with mostly parent involvement) for a future work session agenda item.

The following announcements were made:

- The Foundation Pep Rally is Saturday, March 4 at 5:30pm
- Next Work Session is Wednesday, March 8 at 6:00pm
- Spring Break is March 13-17
- Next Regular Board Meeting is Monday, March 27 at 6:00pm

The Board took a short break, then at 6:39 pm, Schlarmann made a motion, seconded by Norton to move to closed session per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5(l)(j) to discuss the purchase or sale of particular real estate, but only when premature disclosure could be reasonably expected to increase the price the board would have to pay for the property, or in case of a sale reduce the price the board could receive for the property. By roll call vote: Schlarmann, aye; Stadtmueller, aye; Norton, aye; and Rieken, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

At 6:49pm a motion was made by Brenneman, seconded by Schlarmann to reconvene to open session. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

There being no further business, Schlarmann made a motion, seconded by Norton to adjourn the meeting at 6:50pm and move to the Exempt Session. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Approved:

Attest:

Craig Stadtmueller, President

Judy Hayen, Board Secretary