Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of April 25, 2022

The Board of Education regular meeting was held on Monday, April 25, 2022 in the Board Room at 850 E Oak Street, Monticello, Iowa, and was called to order at 6:02 pm by President Craig Stadtmueller. Board Member Mark Rieken led the Pledge of Allegiance and read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Board Secretary, Judy Hayen, did roll call. The following directors were present: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenenman, and Norton. Also present were: Judy Hayen, Marcy Gillmore, Brian Jaeger, Pete Temple, Kim Brooks, Mary Jane Maher, Robyn Ponder, Nick Schauf, Todd Werner, Denny Folken, student Sully Flynn, and several staff members.

It was moved by Brenneman, seconded by Norton to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenenman, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

President Stadtmueller welcomed the visitors at the meeting and invited those that signed in to speak on the Support Staff Retention Bonus agenda item to come forward one at a time. Each individual was given 3 minutes to speak. Those individuals were Wendi Fortman, Melissa Motley, Joe Welsch, and Jessie Dirks. The Board thanked them for coming.

Congratulations were extended to: Jazz 1 on their 8th place finish in class 3A of the Iowa Jazz Championships; Karli Schwendinger on her selection and performance with the Coe College High School honor band; Davin Wickman for being named the STAR in Agri-Business for 2022 at the Iowa FFA Leadership Conference! He was selected from 735 members that received their Iowa FFA Degrees this year; the following teachers who have received Scale Up Grants from the Iowa Governor's STEM Advisory Council: Heather Hansen -Tiny Techies for Educators, Kim Carlson - Computational Thinking in Action with Microbit and Robot Investigations with Finch Robots, Kindergarten teachers: Jolene Schlemme, Ashley Manternach, Jenny Claussen, and Donna Niemeyer - the Daily Math Fluency, and Janice Wallerich - Computational Thinking in Action with Microbit; and to our music educators Nick Thumma, Ellen Walker, Donna Wall, Alec Garringer, and Brett Kniess, our students and to our community - we are 1 of 5 schools in Iowa named as a 2022 Best Communities for Music Education. The award program recognizes outstanding efforts by teachers, administrators, parents, students and community leaders who have made music education part of a well-rounded education. Designations are made to districts and schools that demonstrate an exceptionally high commitment and access to music education.

Principals Denny Folken, Todd Werner, and Nick Schauf each gave their building report. Senior Sully Flynn gave a presentation on a "Day of Caring" that will take place on May 13 in the Community. This event is put on by our Student Council and our National Honor Society members. All high school students will be participating in this community wide cleanup day. Curriculum Director Robyn Ponder gave her Curriculum Director's report and Superintendent Jaeger also gave his report.

There were no action items.

A motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenneman to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenenman, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Board Member Activity Reports –Superintendent Jaeger thanked Craig Stadtmueller & Abby Jaeger for doing a fantastic job at Grand March this past weekend. He also thanked Robyn Ponder for her behind the scenes work with Post Prom.

The Board wanted the public to know that the 'Day of Caring' on May 13 is a great idea and encourage our community to participate as well.

Agenda items for future work sessions included a presentation on our STEM programs.

The following announcements were made:

- Iowa School Board Recognition Month is May
- Teacher Appreciation Week is May 2-6
- Support Staff Appreciation Week is May 9-13
- Next Work Session is Wednesday, May 11 at 6:00pm
- Next Regular Board Meeting is Monday, May 23 at 6:00pm
- Graduation is Sunday, May 29 at 2:00pm at the football field

A motion was made by Norton, seconded by Brenneman to move to closed session at per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5(l)(i) for Superintendent Jaeger's evaluation at 7:07pm. By roll call vote: Rieken, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Stadtmueller, aye; Brenneman; aye; and Norton, aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Brenneman, seconded by Schlarmann to reconvene to open session at 7:39pm. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenenman, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

There being no further business, Brenneman made a motion, seconded by Norton to adjourn the meeting at 7:40 pm. Ayes: Rieken, Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenenman, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The Board then moved to the Exempt Session per Iowa Code.

Approved:

Attest:

Craig Stadtmueller, President

Judy Hayen, Board Secretary