Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education Regular Meeting of February 28, 2022

The Board of Education regular meeting was held on Monday, February 28, 2022, in the Board Room at 850 E Oak St., Monticello, IA. President Craig Stadtmueller called the meeting to order at 6:00pm. Board Member John Schlarmann led the Pledge of Allegiance and read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Board Secretary Judy Hayen did roll call. The following directors were present Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Others present were Dr. Brian Jaeger, Marcy Gillmore, Judy Hayen, Pete Temple, Nick Schauf, Todd Werner, Denny Folken, and Mary Jane Maher.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenenman to approve the agenda as presented with one correction, deleting Policy #502.1 Compulsory Attendance under Item 4.03. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Congratulations were extended to: the following Senior Athletes on their high school career: **Wrestling:** Triniti Etzel. Miles Hatchel, Owen Ray, Mark Sunlin; Boys Basketball: Lucas Bartachek, Grant Hospodarsky, Trey Kuper, Caleb Sauser, Eian Weber; Girls Basketball: Bronwyn Hodge and Lydia Recker; Girls Bowling: Emma Hynick, Karle Kramer, Emma Sperfslage; Boys Bowling: Logan Farmer, Ian LaGrange, Easton Lee, Davin Wickman; Cheer: Heather Burrow, Joselyn Camp, Trista DeShaw, Aveeon Drake, Kaylee Manternach, Allie Riches; Dance: Kelsie Adams and Gracie Tuel; the Boys Basketball Team on being River Valley Conference North Division Champs for the 3rd year in a row; Boys Basketball Coach Tim Lambert for being selected as the River Valley Conference North Division Coach of the Year for the 4th year in a row; the following boys' basketball players for their River Valley Conference Awards: Preston Ries and Tate Petersen- Elite All-Conference; Peyton Schilling and Trey Kuper - North Division All-Conference; Caleb Sauser- Honorable Mention All-Conference; the following girls' basketball players for their River Valley Conference Awards: Jayden Kuper-Elite; Lydia Recker-North Division; Katie Roher - North Division; Jaelyn Aitchison-North Division; and Bronwyn Hodge-Honorable Mention; Ethan Long and Kale Hansen on advancing to state wrestling; the Jazz Band for earning Division 1 Superior ratings from all three judges at the IHSMA Jazz Festival; Congratulations to the following groups for being nominated for Large Group All-State Speech: Grant Hospodarsky & Evan Martensen-Group Improv; Mia Jaeger & Bella Mullen - Group Improv; Madison Butterworth on receiving the Best of Center award for Monticello Vocal Solo Night; the following on placing at individual conference speech: Improv - 2nd place Grant Hospodarsky; Poetry- 2nd Bella Mullen; Review- 1st Mya Postel; Radio News- 1st Kendall Siebels, 2nd Ian Temple, 3rd Grant Hospodarsky; Expository Address- 1st Zach Reuter; Storytelling- 3rd Claire Hogan; and Lauren Koehler- 3rd Lit Program; the following students that attended State BPA and qualified for Nationals in May: Marisa Grant- 4th in Medical Terminology Concepts; Lauren Koehler- 2nd in Fundamental Word Processing; Becky Lang- 1st in PC Troubleshooting, 3rd in Digital Communications and Design; Leah Koehler- 2nd in Parliamentary Procedure; and River Smith- 2nd in Python Programming; the boys basketball team on advancing to State; and Brendan Pasker for receiving an Honorable Mention for outstanding soloist at the Coe College Jazz Summit.

Principals Denny Folken, Todd Werner, and Nick Schauf each gave their building report. Curriculum Director Robyn Ponder gave her Curriculum Director's report. Superintendent Jaeger also gave his report.

A motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenneman to set March 28, 2022 at 6:00 pm as the date & time for the Public Hearing on the 2022-23 Budget. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Norton, seconded by Schlarmann to approve the 2022-23 Budget Guarantee Resolution as presented. By roll call vote: Schlarmann, aye; Stadtmueller, aye; Brenneman, aye; Norton, aye; and Rieken, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Brenenman to approve the first reading of the following Board polies: 408.0 Employee Health Examinations, 408.2 Communicable Diseases, 409.0 Drug and Alcohol-Free Workplace, 412.0 Travel Reimbursement and Use of District Vehicle, 412.1 Use of District Credit Cards, and 702.12 The Use of Seat Belts on School Buses as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brenneman, seconded by Norton to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Board Member Activity Reports – Board member Amanda Brenneman thanked Seniors Piper Hansen and Mallory Steiner for doing a great job with the 13U Volleyball team. John Schlarmann attended the boys' basketball state qualifying game and stated it was a great game and they played hard. Good luck players & coaches!

The following announcements were made:

- The Foundation Pep Rally is Saturday, March 5 at 5:30pm
- Next Work Session is Wednesday, March 9 at 6:00pm
- Spring Break is March 14-18

The Board then moved to the Exempt Session per Iowa Code.

• Next Regular Board Meeting is Monday, March 28 at 6:00pm

There being no further business, Schlarmann made a motion, seconded by Brenneman to adjourn the meeting at 7:03pm. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Brenneman, Norton, and Rieken. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Approved:	Attest:	
Craig Stadtmueller, President	Judy Hayen, Board Secretary	