Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of August 24, 2020

President John Schlarmann called the Public Hearing on the 2020-2021 Amended School Calendar to order at 6:02 pm on Monday, August 24, 2020. There was no public input. President Schlarmann closed the hearing at 6:04 pm.

The Board of Education regular meeting was held on Monday, August 25, 2020, in the Board Room at 850 East Oak Street, Monticello, Iowa. Board President John Schlarmann called the meeting to order at 6:05 pm. Johnson led the Pledge of Allegiance and read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Board Secretary, Judy Hayen, did roll call. The following directors were present: Johnson, Brenneman, Norton, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Absent: None. Others present were Judy Hayen, Marcy Gillmore, Brian Jaeger, Pete Temple, Kelli Osterkamp, Denny Folken, Todd Werner, Joan Young, Robyn Ponder, and Georgia Johnson.

It was moved by Brenneman, seconded by Johnson to approve the agenda as presented with the deletion of Item 3.03 Fall Sports Report. Ayes: Johnson, Brenneman, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Norton arrived at 6:07pm.

Congratulations were extended to Bud Johnson for his seven years of service on the Monticello School Board. Dr. Jaeger thanked him for his service and presented him with a plaque and a lifetime activities pass. Board members also congratulated him. This was Bud's last meeting. We wish him all the best!

Principals Denny Folken, Todd Werner, and Joan Young each gave a building report. Robyn Ponder gave her curriculum report and Dr. Jaeger gave his Superintendent's report.

It was moved by Brenneman, seconded by Norton to approve the 2020-21 Amended School Calendar as presented. Ayes: Johnson, Brenneman, Norton, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

A motion was moved by Norton, seconded by Brenneman to approve the open enrollment request as presented. Ayes: Johnson, Brenneman, Norton, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Brenneman, seconded by Johnson to approve the 2020-21 State Wide Voluntary Preschool Program (SWVPP) Budget & Contracts as presented. Ayes: Johnson, Brenneman, Norton, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Norton, seconded by Brenneman to approve the 2020-21 Superintendent Goals as presented. Ayes: Johnson, Brenneman, Norton, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Stadtmueller, seconded by Johnson to approve changing the September 28, 2020 Board meeting to September 21, 2020 at 6:00pm as presented. Ayes: Johnson, Brenneman, Norton, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Norton to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Ayes: Johnson, Brenneman, Norton, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Board Member Activity Reports – Craig Stadtmueller stated that the new Middle School Ribbon Cutting ceremony went very well and was a lot of fun. John Schlarmann stated that he has received very positive comments on the new middle school. Bud Johnson stated that it looks great at night and very visible.

Board members wanted the public to know that we had a great first day of school. Board members thanked Bud Johnson for his service, putting his heart and soul into the position, appreciated his advice and able to hear both sides of a story, and his work on the ball fields. Thank you Bud!

Some items for future work sessions that were mentioned: Return to Learn Plan, students cutting thru yards when walking to school, and Spring Farm Lane road surface and issues.

The following announcements were made:

- a. Next Work Session is Wednesday, September 9 @ 6:00 pm
- b. Next Board Meeting is Monday, September 21 @ 6:00 pm
- c. IASB Annual Convention is November 18-19 (virtual)

There being no further business, Norton made a motion, seconded by Johnson to adjourn the meeting at 6:52 pm. Ayes: Johnson, Brenneman, Norton, Schlarmann, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Approved:

Attest:

John Schlarmann, President

Judy Hayen, Board Secretary