## Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of December 16, 2019

The Board of Education regular meeting was held on Monday, December 16, 2019 in the Board Room at the District Office at 711 S Maple Street, Monticello, Iowa, and was called to order at 6:30 pm by President John Schlarmann. Schlarmann led the Pledge of Allegiance and read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Board Secretary, Judy Hayen, did roll call. The following directors were present: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Absent: None. Also present were: Judy Hayen, Marcy Gillmore, Brian Jaeger, Joan Young, Brent Meier, Denny Folken, Robyn Ponder, Rebecca DeWitte, Pete Temple, Brooke Scott, Curt Tauke, and Chad Schumacher and Katie Harms with OPN Architects.

Superintendent Jaeger thanked everyone for all that they do all year long and wished them Happy Holidays!

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Stadtmueller to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Congratulations were extended to: student artists Cora Mescher and Brea Stahlberg for winning the drawing contest at the Monticello Public Library. Three art works were tied for most votes by library patrons; Payton Jaeger and Jeff Carlson who won 1st place in the Cedar Rapids Improv contest held Nov. 23 at Mt. Mercy College; Kain Luensman on his 100th wrestling career victory; the HS Wrestling Team who are the 2019 Monticello Dan Guilford Tournament Team Champions; the Panther Dance Team on the following State Honors: 1st Place Class II Lyrical, 2nd Place Class III Jazz, 3rd Place Class VIII Pom, and Team Distinguished Academic Award; the following who performed at the NEIBA Honor Band on December 7: Maddie Stadtmueller 1st chair, Kehde Campbell 2nd chair, and Micah Williams 1st chair. They represented Monticello well and had a fantastic concert; Caleb Gillmore on bowling a 300 game!

Brent Meier arrived at 6:38 pm.

Chad Schumacher and Katie Harms from OPN Architects were at the meeting to update us on the construction progress and to show us some graphics for the new high school entry and the new middle school. They asked the group for their input on the graphics. Chad stated that they are on track and on time for the opening of the new middle school for July 17, 2020.

Principals Denny Folken, Brent Meier, and Joan Young each gave a building report. Robyn Ponder gave her curriculum report and Dr. Jaeger gave his Superintendent's report.

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Brenneman to approve the Portzen Construction Change Order #004 for a credit in the amount of \$1,143.78 as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Stadtmueller, seconded by Norton to approve the School Budget Review Committee (SBRC) Application for Open Enrollment Out Students (\$97,672.00) and English Language Learner (ELL) Students Beyond 5 Years (\$4,540.80) for a total of \$102,212.80 as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Norton, seconded by Johnson to appoint Craig Stadtmueller to serve on the Jones County Conference Board. The representative must be a Board member and live in Jones County and will serve a one-year term. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Brenneman to approve the second & final reading of Board Policy #902.5 Warning System and Emergency Plans as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Brenneman, seconded by Norton to approve the first reading of Board Policy #602.6E1 Post-Secondary Enrollment Option Guidelines as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Norton, seconded by Brenneman to approve the first reading of Board Policy #602.6E2 Concurrent Enrollment Agreement Form as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Brenneman, seconded by Stadtmueller to approve the first reading of Board Policy #702.12 The Use of Seat Belts on School Buses as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Stadtmueller to approve the Elementary At-Risk Interventionist position as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Norton, seconded by Brenneman to approve the 2020-21 High School Registration Handbook as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brenneman, seconded by Norton to approve the 2020-21 Jones County Regional Center/Kirkwood Programs of Study as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Stadtmueller abstained. Motion carried.

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Brenneman to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

The Board wanted the public to know that they wish Mr. Brent Meier, Middle School Principal all the best with is his retirement and that we are losing a very valuable employee. They also wanted the public to know that construction is on track and on time for the July 17, 2020 opening date. The Board in February will be touring the current middle school and start to evaluate our options on what to do with the building once we are moved out.

The following announcements were made:

- Winter Break is from December 22 January 1. Collaboration day on Jan. 2 and first day back for students is Friday, January 3.
- Next Work Session is Wednesday, January 8 @ 6:00 pm
- Next Board Meeting is Monday, January 27 @ 6:00 pm

pm. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Brenneman, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.	
Approved:	Attest:
John Schlarmann, President	Judy Hayen, Board Secretary