Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education Regular Meeting of May 28, 2019

The Board of Education regular meeting was held in the Board Room at the District Office at 711 South Maple Street, Monticello, Iowa on Tuesday, May 28, 2019, and was called to order at 6:01 pm by President Bud Johnson. Board member John Schlarmann led the Pledge of Allegiance and also read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Roll call was done by Board Secretary, Judy Hayen. The following directors were present: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Melchert, and Norton. Absent: None. Melchert arrived at 6:02 pm. Others present were: Dr. Brian Jaeger, Marcy Gillmore, Judy Hayen, Pete Temple, Gretchen Kriegel, Pat Kelly, Nick Thumma, Denny Folken, Brent Meier, and Joan Young.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Stadtmueller to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Melchert, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Congratulations were extended to: Renee Adams and the Monticello Community School District on receiving the America's Farmers Grow Communities Donation of \$2,500; the Boys golf team on finishing 4th at the Conference Meet. Team members were Justin Recker, Connor Lambert, Hunter Kramer, Bo Kramer, Tyler Blatner, and Daltyn Kramer; the following boys golf conference awards: Elite All-Conference Team: Justin Recker, 1st Team All-Conference: Connor Lambert, Honorable Mention: Hunter Kramer; the Boys golf team on capturing 1st place at the Sectional Tournament. Team members were Justin Recker, Connor Lambert, Hunter Kramer, Bo Kramer, Ty Kehoe, and Daltyn Kramer. Individual awards went to Justin Recker, Runner-up medalist and Bo Kramer, 4th place overall; the students and staff at Monticello High School for being recognized as a Banner School for PBIS by the Department of Education. Thank you all for your daily efforts to provide a safe and positive environment for our students; the following Boys State track participants: Avery Martensen - State Champion for 110 high hurdles and 19th place for 400 hurdles; Wade Picray - 10th place for discus; Gavin Cooper, Colin Jordan, Avery Martensen and Jasper Nietert - 22nd place for 1600 medley relay; the following Girls State track participants: Karle Kramer -16th place in the 3000, Triniti Etzel 23rd place in the 3000; Payton Jaeger - 11th place in the shot put; Leah Holub- 23rd place in the 100 Meter Dash; Gabby Guilford - 4th place in the high jump; the Girls Golf Team on being regional champs and to Drucilla Kramer on advancing to State Golf; Katie Stadtmueller on reaching 300 AR points; Thank you to the Dubuque Racing Association (DRA) for your generous donations to the Monticello Community School District!!! The DRA awarded the following: Shannon Elementary - \$1,750 for library books; Carpenter Elementary \$2,100 for library books; Monticello Middle School - \$2,000 for assistive technology; and Monticello High School -\$3,670 for math department calculators. Also, thank you to Gretchen Kriegel, for her hard work on making this happen; Marissa McNally for being named Academic All-State Golf and Dru Kramer and Marissa McNally as All-Conference golfers.

Principals Denny Folken, Brent Meier, and Joan Young each gave their building report. Gretchen Kriegel gave her Curriculum report and Superintendent Jaeger also gave his report. During the Superintendent's report Dr. Jaeger in honor of School Board Recognition Month, presented each board member with a certificate.

A motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Melchert to approve the bid from JPMorgan Chase Bank for the sales tax revenue Bonds, both series A & B with financing option 2D-1 to bond up to \$7.6 million as presented. By roll call vote: Schlarmann, aye; Stadtmueller, aye; Johnson, aye; Melchert, aye; and Norton, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Melchert to approve the 2019-20 math curriculum adoption in the amount of \$135,762.65 as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Melchert, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Norton, seconded by Stadtmueller to approve the 2020 High School Music trip to Florida with BrightSpark Travel for \$1,118 per person as presented Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Melchert, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Stadtmueller, seconded by Norton to approve the 2019-20 Milk Bid with Prairie Farms Dairy as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Melchert, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion as made by Schlarmann, seconded by Melchert to change the start time of the June 12, 2019 Work Session to 6:30 pm and to change the September 23, 2019 board meeting to Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 6:00 pm. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Melchert, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Melchert to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Johnson, Melchert, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

The Board Members participated in the Groundbreaking Ceremony on Friday, May 24, 2019. Thank you to everyone who attended. Work will start on the new middle school as soon as the weather cooperates!

The Board wanted the public to know that on average the Middle School MAP testing scores improved!

The following announcements were made:

- a. Last day of school is June 5
- b. Next Work Session is Wednesday, June 12 @ 6:30 pm
- c. Next Board Meeting is Monday, June 24 @ 6:00 pm

There being no further business, Melchert made a motion, seconded by Stadtmueller to adjourn the meeting at 7:45 pm. Ayes: Schlarmann, Stadtmueller, Melchert, and Norton. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Approved:	Attest:
Bud Johnson, President	Judy Hayen, Board Secretary