Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of December 19, 2016

The Board of Education regular meeting was held in the Board Room at the District Office and was called to order at 6:02 pm by President Angie Beitz. All present took a moment of silence for our two students that lost their lives Sunday and also for their family. Board Member Schlarmann led the Pledge of Allegiance and also read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Roll call was done by Board Secretary, Judy Hayen. The following directors were present: Melchert, Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, and Johnson. Absent: None.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Melchert to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes: Melchert, Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, and Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Congratulations were extended to: Jill Dobel middle school band director on being awarded the 2016 Philip Sehmann Excellence in Teaching Award for the Middle School Level at the Northeast Iowa Bandmasters Association's Honor Band Festival! Mrs. Dobel has served as NEIBA Middle School Affairs Chair for three years and will chair the 2017 All-Iowa 8th Grade Honor Band. The Philip Sehmann Excellence in Teaching Award is presented to those individuals who meet the criteria of excellence, dedication and commitment to the value of instrumental music education in our schools; 8th graders Noah Arduser, Olivia Besler, Philip King, Karli Recker, Levi Temple, and Maddie Stadtmueller on being selected to perform at the Northeast Iowa Bandmasters District Honor Band festival on December 3. That day the students also auditioned to perform in the 2017 All-Iowa 8th grade honor band and Levi Temple earned an alternate trombone spot; the Carpenter students and families on collecting over 800 items for the Monticello Food Pantry during the Fine Arts night on November 29th!

Principals Joan Young, Brent Meier, and Denny Folken each gave their building report. Gretchen Kriegel gave a curriculum report and Superintendent Jaeger also gave his report.

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Mere to approve the Modified Allowable Growth Request for At-Risk/Dropout Prevention in the Amount of \$338,019 for the 2017-18 school year. Ayes: Melchert, Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, and Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mere, seconded by Melchert to approve the second and final reading of Board Policy #102.0E1 Annual Notice of Nondiscrimination as presented. Ayes: Melchert, Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, and Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Melchert, seconded by Schlarmann to approve the first reading of Board Policy #504.3 Student Directory Information as presented. Ayes: Melchert, Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, and Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Melchert to approve the Foreign Exchange Student for the 2017-18 school year as presented. Ayes: Melchert, Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, and Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Johnson to adopt the *Amended* Physical Plant & Equipment Levy (PPEL) Resolution of Election directing an election on the question of participating in the Physical Plant and Equipment Levy to be held on February 7, 2017, to be authorized for a period of 10 years to levy and impose a voter approved physical plant and equipment tax not to exceed sixty-seven cents (67¢) per one thousand dollars (\$1,000.00) of assessed valuation of the taxable property within the school district, and be authorized annually, in combination, as determined by the board, to levy a physical plant and equipment property tax upon all the taxable property within the school district commencing with the levy of property taxes for collection in the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2018, and to impose a physical plant and equipment income surtax upon the state individual income tax of each individual income taxpayer resident in the school district on December 31 for each calendar year commencing with the 2018 calendar year, or each year thereafter, (the percent of income

surtax not to exceed twenty percent (20%) to be determined by the board each year), to be used for the purposes permitted by Iowa law. By roll call vote: Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Beitz, aye; Mere, aye; and Johnson, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Melchert, seconded by Mere to approve the consent agenda as presented. Ayes: Melchert, Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, and Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Board Member Beitz stated that she met with Superintendent Jaeger last week and had a very productive meeting and that things are moving forward. Board Member Schlarmann noted that he attended the 5th and 6th grade band concert last week and thought Mrs. Dobel and the all the kids did great. Schlarmann also mentioned he would like to see something done at the intersection of South Main Street and East Washington Street near the Middle School. He noticed that some kids are having some trouble crossing the street after school there. Mr. Meier and Dr. Jaeger will brainstorm some ideas and also contact the City to see if there is something that can be done. There were no other Board Member reports.

Board members stated what they learned at this meeting and what they would want the public to know from this meeting. Board Member Mere stated that we have some great fine arts happening in our District. Board Member Schlarmann stated he would like to see a crosswalk or something at the intersection of South Main Street and East Washington Street near the Middle School.

Board member Schlarmann would like to have a discussion at the next work session on the crosswalk issue at the intersection of South Main Street and East Washington Street near the Middle School. President Beitz thanked everyone for all they had done and will continue to do in the upcoming weeks for the family that lost two children today.

The following announcements were made:

- Winter Break is from December 23 January 2. First day back for students is Wednesday, January 4.
- Next Work Session Wednesday, January 11 at 6:00 PM
- Next Regular Board Meeting Monday, January 23 at 6:00 PM

There being no further business, Melchert made a motion, seconded by Schlarmann to adjourn the meeting at 6:51 pm. Ayes: Melchert, Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, and Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Approved:

Attest:

Angie Beitz, President

Judy Hayen, Board Secretary