Official Board Minutes of the Monticello Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of December 18, 2013

Voting Order: Brokaw Beitz Mere Gray Johnson

The Board of Education regular meeting was called to order at 6:02 PM by President Chris Brokaw. The following directors were present: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, and Johnson. Absent: None.

It was moved by Gray, seconded by Mere to approve the agenda as amended to add an additional celebration under Item 3; to add additional bills under Item 5 – Finance; to add 2 items under Item 8-New Business - Approve 2014-15 Preschool Tuition Increase and to Vote for County FSA Committee Election. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Congratulations were extended to the following students who were selected to represent Monticello at the 2013-14 Marion Junior High Honor Band: 6^{th} Grade: Carly Hayen – clarinet; Devin Kraus – trumpet; Jeff Carlson – trombone; 7^{th} Grade: Olivia Goodyear – clarinet; Clara Finger-oboe; Chloe Gray – flute; 8^{th} Grade: Rileigh Lambert – oboe; Courtney Campbell – trombone; and to the $5^{th}/6^{th}$ ELP FIRST LEGO League Robotics Team! They received the Rising Star Award at the Regional Tournament in Davenport on Sunday. This award recognizes a team that the judges notice and expect great things from in the future. The team programmed an autonomous robot to complete a series of missions and designed a solution to eliminate the effects of volcanic eruptions by converting heat into electricity. Team members include: Gavin Baugh, Jeff Carlson, Michael Lang, Jason Monk, Mason Reuter and Grahm Schneiter. Coach: Ms. Janice Wallerich and Mentor: Mr. Steve Carlson.

A motion was made by Beitz, seconded by Mere to approve the minutes for the regular Board Meeting on November 25 and Work Session/Special Meeting on December 11, 2013 as presented. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Gray to approve the bills for the month of December, including the payments to officials as presented and to approve payment to Regions Bank for the credit card bill when it is received. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Mere to approve the finance reports for the month of November as presented. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Jean Kehoe presented on RTI (Response to Intervention) or MTSS.

Principals Joan Young, Brent Meier and Denny Folken each gave a building report. Superintendent Anderson gave a report on his AEA Superintendent meeting, stating he met with Liz Mathis to discuss the school calendar and the allowable growth timeline.

It was moved by Gray, seconded by Beitz to approve the second and final reading of Board Policies, Series 500 as discussed at previous work sessions and as presented. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Mere to accept the bid from School Bus Sales in the amount of \$82,168 for a new 2015 Bluebird Vision 65 passenger school bus. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Beitz, seconded by Mere to approve the Middle School Vocal Music trips to Linn Mar (5/6th) on January 27, 2014 and to Tipton (7/8th) on February 11, 2014. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Beitz, seconded by Gray to approve the 2013-14 January Academy fieldtrips as presented. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Beitz to approve the budget proposal for the 2014-15 Modified Allowable Growth Request for Dropout Prevention and Services for Dropout and Potential Dropouts in the amount of \$243,642 as presented. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mere, seconded by Gray to approve the contract amendments for the following Food Service Employees: Leann Payne from 4 ³/₄ hours to 5 ¹/₄ hours; Lisa Townsend from 3 hours to 3 ¹/₄ hours; Wanetta Brunscheen from 2 hours to 2 ¹/₄ hours; Jerrie Osterkamp from 2 hours to 2 ¹/₄ hours. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Beitz, seconded by Mere to approve the 2013-14 Letter of Agreement with Jones County Safe & Healthy Youth (JCSHY) Coalition as Todd Hospodarsky as the SODA Advisor. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Gray, seconded by Johnson to approve the 2014-15 Preschool tuition increase from \$360 per month to \$370 per month as discussed at the work session. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Beitz to vote for Charles Summers to serve on the County (COC) FSA Committee. Ayes: Brokaw, Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Gray, seconded by Mere to approve the appointment of Bennett Eastburn as Middle School Boys Basketball coach at BA, Step 11, 6% for a salary of \$2,363 effective immediately. By roll call vote: Brokaw, aye; Beitz, aye; Mere, aye; Gray, aye; Johnson, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Discussion on the board pamphlets and Chapter 7 of "Switch" was tabled until the January meeting.

It was announced that Winter break is from December 23-January 2nd with January 3rd as a Professional Development day and first day back for students is Monday, January 6; the next work session is Wednesday, January 8 at 6:00 PM; and the next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, January 27, 2014 at 6:00 PM.

President Brokaw thanked everyone for all they've done so far this school year and wished everyone a Merry Christmas.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:00 PM.

Approved:

Attest:

Chris Brokaw, President

Judy Hayen, Secretary