Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of October 26, 2015

Voting Order:
Beitz
Melchert
Schlarmann
Mere
Johnson

The Board of Education regular meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Angie Beitz. The following directors were present: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Absent: None.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Johnson to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Celebrations were extended to: the following middle school students who were selected to area honor bands: River Valley Conference Honor Band: Evee Krouse, trumpet, Jeff Carlson, trombone, Kacie Bayne, percussion. Northeast Iowa Bandmasters Association (NEIBA) District Honor Band: Micah Williams, oboe; to Karen Brokaw and Seth Stadtmueller who will be honored at the Reading Recovery Conference in Cedar Falls. It's the 25th Anniversary of having Reading Recovery in Iowa. Karen is the only teacher to have a former Reading Recovery student to go on to become the valedictorian of his class; to Maci Fortman & Taylor White on having their poems published in the American Library of Poetry written by students. Lilly Wessels and Caleb Westphal's poems were selected but are not being published; to Todd Hospodarsky on receiving the Great Student Advocacy Group Leader award from the Jones County Safe and Healthy Youth Coalition; the Girls & Boys Cross Country teams on getting 1st place at districts and advancing to state!

A motion was made by Melchert, seconded by Johnson to approve the minutes as presented for the retiring board and the new board regular meeting of September 28 and the work session of October 14, 2015. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Mere to approve the bills for the month of October as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Melchert, seconded by Schlarmann to approve the finance reports for the month of September as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Gretchen Kriegel presented the AYP/APR report. Principals Denny Folken, Brent Meier and Joan Young each gave a building report. Superintendent Anderson gave a report on certified enrollment. Overall, we are up 7.13 students. Anderson also gave his monthly report.

It was moved by Melchert, seconded by Mere to approve the 2015-16 early graduation requests as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mere, seconded by Schlarmann to appoint Bud Johnson to serve on the Jones County Conference board for this year. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Melchert, seconded by Schlarmann to proclaim the week of November 16-20 as American Education Week in the Monticello Community School District. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mere, seconded by Melchert to approve the first reading of Board Policies, Series 401.0, 401.1 and 401.3 as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Johnson, seconded by Melchert to approve the first reading of Board Policies Series #408.0-413.2 as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Melchert to approve the list of 2015-16 SIAC members as presented with the addition of Peg Mere and Dave Melchert. Ayes: Beitz, Melchert, Schlarmann, Mere, Johnson. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Mere to accept the resignation of Terri Keeney as Assistant Varsity Girls Track Coach effective immediately, with thanks for her years of service. By roll call vote: Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye; Johnson, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Melchert to accept the resignation of Lynn Dotterweich as Food Service Employee at the middle school, effective immediately with thanks for her service. By roll call vote: Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye; Johnson, aye; Beitz, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Melchert, seconded by Johnson to accept the resignation of Jim Kyte as Assistant Varsity Football coach, effective immediately. By roll call vote: Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye; Johnson, aye; Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Johnson to approve Elizabeth "Buffy" Clark as Special Education Child Specific Associate at Shannon Elementary for approximately 7 hours per day, 5 days a week at the associate rate of \$13.66 per hour, effective immediately. By roll call vote: Mere, aye; Johnson, aye; Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mere, seconded by Johnson to approve Stacy Campbell as .25 FTE Elementary Math Support, at BA+10, Step 2, for a salary of \$5,845.07, effective immediately. By roll call vote: Johnson, aye; Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Melchert, seconded by Mere to approve Bret McDonald as middle school girls' basketball at BA, Step 0, 6% for a salary of \$1,810 effective immediately. By roll call vote: Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye; Johnson, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Schlarmann to approve Mike Cleeton as a volunteer for middle school girls' basketball for the 2015-16 season, pending receipt of a favorable background check. By roll call vote: Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye; Johnson, aye; Beitz, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Johnson, to approve Kolby Harms as a volunteer for high school boys' basketball for the 2015-16 season, effective immediately. By roll call vote: Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye; Johnson, aye; Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Mere to approve the high school wrestling non-teaching coaches and volunteers as presented including Casey Reyner as a volunteer. By roll call vote: Mere, aye; Johnson, aye; Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Melchert to approve Nathan Spahr as Maintenance Personnel for approximately 40 hours per week, at the rate of \$18.42 per hour, effective November 9, 2015. By roll call vote: Johnson, aye; Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mere, seconded by Johnson to approve Stacy Appleby as 3 ¼ hours food service employee at the Middle School at the rate of \$13.58 per hour, effective immediately. By roll call vote: Beitz, aye; Melchert, aye; Schlarmann, aye; Mere, aye; Johnson, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

The following announcements were made:

Next Work Session – Wednesday, November 11 at 6:00 PM Next Regular Board Meeting - Monday, November 23 at 6:00 PM IASB Delegate Assembly – Wednesday, November 18 IASB Convention – November 18-19 American Education Week – November 16-20

There being no further business for the regular meeting, it was moved by Johnson, seconded by Melchert to adjourn the meeting at 7:55pm and then go into closed session at 8:04pm as per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5 (l.i).

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Melchert to adjourn the closed session at 10:07 pm.

Approved:	Attest:
Angie Beitz, President	Judy Haven, Board Secretary