Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of January 26, 2015

Voting Order: Beitz Mere Gray Johnson Brokaw

The Board of Education regular meeting was called to order at 6:000 p.m. by President Chris Brokaw. The following directors were present: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, and Brokaw. Absent: None.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Beitz to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Congratulations were extended to: the following for placing at the speech large group conference meet held Saturday, January 17th at Tipton High School: <u>1st Place</u> - TV News- Alyssa Bower, Carter Bronemann, Alex Carlson, Quinn Fiedler, Obie Wagner; <u>2nd Place</u> -Group Improv- Andie Farris and Dani Isaac, Musical Theater-"Omigod" from Legally Blonde- Bridget Ahlrichs, Sammy Ahlrichs, Arianne Jenkins, Casey Nation; <u>3rd Place</u> - Freshmen Readers Theater "Gator Gumbo" - Marissa Braford, Courtney Campbell, Cassie Gillmore, Ashley Jenkins, Rachel Larabee, Skyler Postel, Andrew Wall, Kiley Wall, Ensemble Acting - "Roottop Lessons"- Stephanie Manternach, Nicole Stark, Haley Stickfort; "RSC Hamlet" - Rileigh Lambert, Anna Loes, Jordyn Patterson, Group Improv - Tyler Hospodarsky, Andrew Tjaden and Brice Yousse; to Easton Lee on winning the middle school Geography Bee; to Mike Meshak. He is leading a group to France & Spain in 2016 and so far has 19 students signed up. More high school students are welcome. Contact Mr. Meshak if interested.

A motion was made by Mere, seconded by Beitz to approve the minutes for the regular Board meeting on December 15, 2014, and the work session/special meeting on January 14, 2015 as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Gray to approve the bills for the month of January as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Mere to approve the finance reports for the month of December as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Principals Denny Folken, Brent Meier, and Joan Young each gave a building report. Superintendent Anderson reported on: his School Executive Leaders of Iowa meeting which included topics of: school start date, supplemental state aid, attendance center rankings, TLC grant, and ACT; the Foundation Gala and our website that can now be translated to Spanish at the click of a button.

A motion was made by Beitz, seconded by Gray to approve the setting the Public Hearing Date for the Instructional Support Program for February 23, 2015 at 6:00 PM. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Beitz to setting the Public Hearing for Early Start Calendar Waiver Request for February 23, 2015 to see if anyone has anything to say about the district starting school before the earliest starting date as specified in the Code of Iowa. (We want to do this just in

case we can request a waiver.) Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Gray, seconded by Beitz to approve the Supplemental Education Services Agreement with Envision Learning in Alabama as presented and as discussed at the work session. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mere, seconded by Beitz to approve the first reading of Board Policies, Series 200 as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Gray to approve and waive the first reading of Board Policy 602.6E2 Post-Secondary Enrollment Option Agreement Form as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Beitz, seconded by Mere to approve the 2015-16 Student Teaching Contract with Upper Iowa University as presented. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Mere to approve the 2015-16 High School Registration Handbook/Program of Studies as presented and as discussed at previous work sessions. Including: the 2015-16 Jones Regional/Kirkwood Program of Studies, Jones Regional Education Center Academy 2015-16 Pre-Registration form, Post-Secondary Enrollment Option (PSEO) registration from, the pupil request forms for grades 9-12 and the Post-Secondary Enrollment Option Agreement Form. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Beitz, seconded by Gray to approve the addition of a Special Education Child Specific Associate at the Middle School for approximately 7 hours per day at the associate rate of pay of \$13.26 per hour. Ayes: Beitz, Mere, Gray, Johnson, Brokaw. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Beitz, seconded by Mere to accept the resignation of Tiffany Rave as Co-Varsity Softball Coach, effective immediately, with thanks for her years of service. By roll call vote: Beitz, aye; Mere, aye; Gray, aye: Johnson, aye; Brokaw, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Gray, seconded by Beitz to accept the resignation of Brooke Stahlberg as Freshman Softball Coach, effective immediately, with thanks for her years of service. By roll call vote: Mere, aye; Gray, aye: Brokaw, aye; Beitz, aye. Nay: Johnson. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Beitz, seconded by Mere to approve Jim Reuter as substitute bus driver at the rate of \$17.00 per hour, effective immediately. By roll call vote: Gray, aye: Johnson, aye; Brokaw, aye; Beitz, aye; Mere, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was announced that the next work session is Wednesday, February 11 at 6:00 PM; and the next regular Board meeting is Monday, February 23 at 6:00 PM; and the Foundation Gala and Auction will be held on Saturday, March 7th at 5:30 PM.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:55 p.m.

Approved:

Attest:

Chris Brokaw, President

Judy Hayen, Board Secretary